SUNNY SIDE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH ADMINISTRATIVE COUNCIL 2024

Administrative Council, Chair Chuck Kendrew (Class of 2025)
Administrative Council, Vice-Chair Susan McDowell (Class of 2026)

Recording Secretary Candi Babcock

Lay Leader Bonnie Whalen

(serves as the membership's representative on all committees)

Committee on Staff-Parish Relations, Chair Bob Gilbert

Committee on Finance, Co-Chairs Mary Jo Jester, Gay Whitman

Board of Trustees, Chair Don Smith

Treasurers Ron Rankin, Gay Whitman

Financial Secretary Jeanette Corley (deposits weekly tithes and offerings; provides annual giving report to members)
Assistant Financial Secretary Candi Babcock
Membership Secretary Candi Babcock

(maintains/updates Membership Roll)

Lay Delegate to Annual Conference Nancy Locke
Alternate Lay Delegate Bonnie Whalen

Mission/Outreach, Chair Loretta Gregg

Worship, Chair Freddie Davis

Education Committee, Chair Laura Love

Scouting Chartered Organization Representative Candi Babcock

United Women in Faith, Co-Pres. Nancy Locke, Bonnie Whalen

United Methodist Men, Pres. Chuck Kendrew

Bereavement Coordinator Cheri Moreno

Members At-Large Emily Gilbert, Michelle Robinson, (Class of 2025)

Ron Twilley, Susan McDowell, Joyce Key, Sylvia Avery, (Class of 2026)

Pastor Rev. JoAn Kinrade

COMMITTEES OF THE CHURCH, 2024

**The Pastor, Chairpersons of the Administrative Council and SPRC, and Lay Leader serve as Ex-Officio members on ALL committees on which they are not designated as full members.

COMMITTEE ON STAFF-PARISH RELATIONS

Chairperson: Bob Gilbert

This committee handles all personnel matters of the church, including hiring and dismissal of support staff, determining salaries for paid staff, evaluation and support of the Pastor, and ongoing communication with the Pastor regarding issues that may arise between the church's membership and the staff, including the Pastor. Members are elected to 3-year terms. Each group will "roll off" at the end of the designated class year.

| <u>2024</u> | <u>2025</u> | <u> 2026</u> |
|----------------|----------------|--------------------|
| Peggy Rankin | Bob Gilbert | Bob Francis |
| Mary Jo Jester | Janice Meadows | Jan Falcone |
| Candi Babcock | Harold Key | Linda Simmons |

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Chairperson: Don Smith

This committee handles all matters related to the physical property of the church, including maintenance of the property, property insurance, purchases of the property, legal issues related to the property, etc. The Chairperson of this committee is elected by its membership at the first meeting in January each year. Additionally, the committee selects a representative to attend Administrative Council and Finance Committee meetings. A majority of the members must be present for a quorum. Members are elected to 3-year terms. Each group will "roll off" at the end of the designated class year.

| <u>2024</u> | <u>2025</u> | <u>2026</u> |
|---------------|-----------------|-----------------|
| Chuck Kendrew | Gay Whitman | Glinda Twilley |
| Pete Corley | Richard Overley | Walter Lawrence |
| Don Smith | Loretta Gregg | Clint Perry |
| | | Brian Corley |

COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND STEWARDSHIP

Co-Chairpersons: Mary Jo Jester, Gay Whitman

This committee handles financial matters of the church, including preparing the Annual Budget for Charge Conference, funds management, loans when required, payment of church bills and recording of all financial gifts to the church. Recommendations are made to the Administrative Council, as necessary. If general funds are short, priority of payments may be set.

Mary Jo Jester, Gay Whitman, Chairs

Ron Rankin, Treasurer

Jeanette Corley, Financial Secretary

Bonnie Whalen, Lay Leader

Chuck Kendrew, Administrative Council Chair

Bob Gilbert, SPRC Chair

Candi Babcock, Asst. Financial Sec.

Don Smith, Trustees Chair

Nancy Locke, Lay Delegate

JoAn Kinrade, Pastor

COMMITTEE ON LAY LEADERSHIP/NOMINATIONS

Chairperson: JoAn Kinrade, Pastor

The Pastor chairs this committee. Its responsibility is to nominate church leaders and committee members, ascertain their willingness to serve, and present a final slate for approval at Charge Conference each year. Members are elected to 3-year terms. Each group will "roll off" at the end of the designated class year.

<u>2024</u> <u>2025</u> <u>2026</u>

Sylvia Avery Freddie Davis Susan Sandberg
Mary Jo Jester Cheri Moreno Brenda Hawbecker
Richard Overley Charlie Love Bunny Fulton

Ex-Officio by Virtue of Office: Admin. Council Chair, SPRC Chair, Lay Leader

WORSHIP COMMITTEE

Chairperson: Freddie Davis

Under the leadership of the Pastor who oversees all worship services, this committee helps to plan and implement all worship experiences, including adult and children's worship.

Freddie Davis, Chairperson

JoAn Kinrade, Pastor

Chuck Kendrew, Admin Council Chair Bunny Fulton, Freddie Davis, Altar Guild Peggy Rankin, Communion Steward Terry Buffington, Pianist

Laura Love, Children's Ministry

Bonnie Whalen, Lay Leader

Robin Sims, Bonnie Whalen, Linda Simmons, Children's Church

Michelle Robinson, Janice Kulp, Charlie Love, Gay Whitman, Livestream and Media

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Chairperson: Laura Love

This committee consists of Sunday School Teachers, Children's Church Teachers, and others involved in teaching at the church.

Linda Simmons, Robin Sims, Bonnie Whalen, Bob and Emily Gilbert

UNITED WOMEN IN FAITH

Co-Presidents: Nancy Locke, Bonnie Whalen Secretary: Candi Babcock Vice-President: Robin Sims Treasurer: Linda Simmons

UNITED METHODIST MEN

President: Chuck Kendrew Treasurer: Ron Rankin

CEMETERY TRUSTEES

The function of the Cemetery Trustees is independent of Sunny Side UMC with the exception that the members are elected by the Charge Conference and shall report to the Board of Trustees, who will make an annual report to the Administrative Council on their behalf.

Chairperson and Treasurer: Mary Jo Jester

Ex Officio Members, by Virtue of Office

Chuck Kendrew, Admin. Council Chair Bob Gilbert, SPRC Chair Don Smith, Trustees Chair

Members via Trust Agreement

Sylvia Avery, Pete Corley, Gay Whitman, Connie Poss